Emergency Management

Serving the Communities of:

Adel - Dallas Center - Dallas County - Dexter - Linden - Redfield - Waukee - Bouton - Dawson - Granger - Minburn - Urbandale - West Des Moines - Clive - Desoto - Grimes - Perry - Van Meter - Woodward

Chapter 29C of the Code of Iowa creates the State Emergency Management Division and the local Emergency Management Commissions in Iowa.

The Dallas County Emergency Management Commission is made up of the mayors of all the jurisdictions in Dallas County, one member of the Dallas County Board of Supervisors, and the Sheriff. The Commission appoints a Emergency Management Coordinator to manage the Agency and assist the Commission.

Emergency Management Activities

Some of the many activities and meetings that the Dallas County Office of Emergency Management takes part in are:

  • County 911 Committee
  • County Fire Association
  • County EMS Committee
  • County Safety Committee
  • County Wellness Committee
  • Courthouse Security Committee
  • Updates County Emergency Plans
  • Manages County Emergency Operations Center
  • Coordinates HazMat Responses
  • Helps Coordinate Emergency Responses
  • Assists Cities, Schools, and the private sector with Emergency Planning

The Commission's annual meeting in January each year.

2017 Hazard Mitigation Plan Update

Click here to view the mitigation plan for Dallas County


Mission Statement

The mission of the Dallas County Emergency Management Agency is to promote whole community preparedness through a collaborative, comprehensive effort to prepare, mitigate, respond and recover from all hazards.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer