There are three members on the Board of Supervisors. Individuals serve overlapping four year terms, with elections held every two years. The Board elects one of its members annually to chair its activities.   

Board Member Brad Golightly Modified Board Member Mark Hanson Modified  Board Member Kim Chapman Modified 
District 1 District 2 District 3
Brad Golightly Mark Hanson Kim Chapman


Dallas County Board of Supervisors

902 Court Street
Adel, IA 50003

In Dallas County, the Board of Supervisors convenes each Tuesday morning at 9:00 a.m. to consider and act upon official business and approve personnel appointments.

The Board of Supervisors has both legislative and administrative powers and is the policy-making body for Dallas County government. With its authority to adopt legislation and policies for department operations, the Board sets priorities, allocates resources and maintains budgetary control.

The budget process is the most important power of the Board. By using the budget process effectively, the Board is able to monitor and correct inefficiencies in all organizational units, including elected departments, quasi-organizations, and administrative departments.

The Board appoints individuals to serve on a number of boards & commissions. In an attempt to comply with Iowa Code Section 69.16A Gender Balance, Dallas County encourages citizens, both men and women to volunteer to fill vacancies on these Boards & Commissions.

The Board members themselves also serve on a number of outside boards and committees.

 Mission Statement

As stewards of the public trust and resources, the Board of Supervisors will strive to maintain and improve the quality of life for the citizens of Dallas County.

Want more information about how county government works? Check out the following information from the Iowa Association of Counties: 

Understanding County Government (PDF) 
Understanding County Government (PowerPoint)